Do School Snow/Cold Days Bother You?

Julie Ballantyne Brown
3 min readJan 16, 2024

Just… relax

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

“We didn’t cancel school when I was a kid!”

“Deal with it. It’s winter.”

“Kids used to be tougher.” (I’ve got a BIG problem with this one.)

“It must be nice to be a teacher with all the snow days you get. (I’m getting really itchy about now.)

Blah blah blah.

It’s winter in the northern hemisphere. My district has a snow/cold day tomorrow. It didn’t announce it until 10:00 tonight, later than many of the smaller districts, but relatively at the same time as the other large districts around us. This is due to the significant winter storm that came through a few days ago and the dangerous wind chills happening at the moment. Not everyone has power, even now.

The district originally posted that we would remain open but changed their mind a few hours later. As you can imagine, some of the comments were like the ones I posted above.

Let’s get a few things straight.

First of all, relax. If your job doesn’t give snow days or work at home days, I don’t know what to tell you. If that’s super-important to you, maybe you should look for a new job. I mean, seriously. If you’re that upset about snow days, you may have some shadow work to do on yourself. I’ve worked jobs that don’t…

--

--

Julie Ballantyne Brown

Future London resident. Follow Julie on Twitter: @BrownBallantyne or on FB and Instagram: @JulieBallantyneBrown